The Balkan Trilogy: Great Fortune, Spoilt City, Friends and Heroes

Author(s): Olivia Manning


Living and working in Rumania, Guy and Harriet Pringle are forced to evacuate to Greece before the steady advance of the German army. "The Balkan Trilogy" is the portrait of their marriage, an evocation of a vanished way of life and an ironic comedy of manners in a breaking world.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

"'So glittering is the overall parade... and so entertaining the surface that the trilogy remains excitingly vivid; it amuses, it diverts and it informs, and to do these things so elegantly is no small achievement' - Frederic Raphael, Sunday Times"

Olivia Manning, OBE, was born in Portsmouth, Hampshire, spent much of her youth in Ireland and, as she put it, had 'the usual Anglo-Irish sense of belonging nowhere'. She married just before the War and went abroad with her husband, R.D. Smith, a British Council lecturer in Bucharest. Her experiences there formed the basis of the work which makes up The Balkan Trilogy. As the Germans approached Athens, she and her husband evacuated to Egypt and ended up in Jerusalem, where her husband was put in charge of the Palestine Broadcasting Station. They returned to London in 1946 and lived there until her death in 1980.

General Fields

  • : 9780099427483
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Arrow Books Ltd
  • : 0.601
  • : November 1992
  • : 200mm X 130mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2005
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Olivia Manning
  • : Paperback
  • : New edition
  • : en
  • : 928